11 ICCAC Players Tabbed as 2018 NJCAA Football All-Americans

11 ICCAC Players Tabbed as 2018 NJCAA Football All-Americans

Football All-American Release


The 2019 NJCAA Football All-American teams were released on Tuesday, and the ICCAC was well represented. The three teams combined placed 11 members on all three teams. Iowa Western led the way with six selections, Iowa Central had three and Ellsworth had two. 

From the Region XI Champions, Iowa Western, two players were slotted into the First Team. ICCAC Offensive Player of the Year, wideout Nick Singleton received First Team recognition. The sophomore from Macon, Ga., caught the second most passes this season (67) and collected 838 yards of receiving, 8th best in the country.

The ICCAC Defensive Player of the Year was also recognized on the First Team for the Reivers. Elijah James, defensive end, collected 8.5 sacks and had 57 tackles, 16.5 of which came for a loss of yards.

Myron Cunningham, Iowa Central's offensive tackle, was recognized on First Team for the Tritons. By season's end, the Tritons offense was one of the best in the country scoring 39.5 points per game in their final six contests. 

From Ellsworth on First Team was linebacker, Ali Shockley. The sophomore accumulated the third most tackles in the NJCAA this season with 124. He posted double-digit tackle performances in eight of 10 games played this season and finished with a season-high 20 tackles against Garden City on Sept. 8.

Most notable from the Second Team were on the defensive side of the ball with Michael Slater of Iowa Central and Willie O'Hara of Iowa Western. Slater, a defensive end, finished with 53 tackles and 7.5 sacks. He also scored three defensive touchdowns on the season. O'Hara led the nation in tackles with 143 and had double-digit tackles in every game but one this season. His 143 tackle total is the most since the 2016 season and a school record. 


Complete All-American List


First Team:

WR – Nick Singleton – So – Iowa Western

OT - Myron Cunningham – So. – Iowa Central

DL – Elijah James – So. – Iowa Western

LB - Ali Shockley – So. – Ellsworth


Second Team:

DL – Michael Slater – So. – Iowa Central

LB – Willie O'Hara – So. – Iowa Western

DB – Daniel Isom – So. – Iowa Western

RS – Michael Zachary – So. – Iowa Western


Honorable Mention:

DL – Atlias Bell – So. – Iowa Western

LB – DaQuan Cross – Fr. – Iowa Central

DB – Naeem Smith – So. – Ellsworth