Men's Soccer Tabs Best in 2019

Men's Soccer Tabs Best in 2019

The 2019 Region XI Men's Soccer All-Region selections were announced on Tuesday. Each school was allotted selections based upon their finish in the conference standings. 

(All statistics noted below were from conference games only.)

In a bounce-back season for Iowa Western, the Reivers boasted four selections to First Team, and 10 overall, after winning the conference for the first time since 2017. Fitzroy Cummings was the leader of an Iowa Western defense that allowed just one goal in conference play all season. Cummings tallied two goals and one assist from his backline position in 2019 in nine games. 

He was joined by Damia Viader, a fellow defenseman, who had a more active offensive attack. Vider scored six goals and recorded seven assists in 2019. Midfielder Nicolas Torres and forward Eduardo Barros were also selected to First Team. Torres had five goals and seven assists and Barros had seven goals, four of them game-winners, and three assists from up top.

The Reivers rose back to the regular season champions under first-year head coach Mike Brown. Brown, who came over from Barton (Kan.) Community College to replace long-time head coach Jordan Carver, led Iowa Western to a perfect 9-0 conference slate. He was voted as the 2019 ICCAC Men's Soccer Coach of the Year. 

Indian Hills finished in second place, with their lone loss coming to Iowa Western and a 1-1 tie with Iowa Lakes.

The Warriors were led by trio David Medeiros, Adam Dahou, and Joao Vitor. Another strong defensive team, Indian Hills allowed 10 goals in conference play, second-best in the ICCAC. Dahou and Vitor anchored the defense. 

Medieros returned to the First Team in 2019 after earning the same honors in 2018. This year he finished with one goal and five assists, leading his team in assists. 

Iowa Lakes' selections featured the 2019 ICCAC Men's Soccer Player of the Year Jovoney Brown. Brown was a force up top for the Lakers. He scored nine goals in league play, and 18 overall. He also added three assists. 

He was joined by Cameron Weston. Weston, a defender, scored seven goals and added five assists, just two points shy (19) of his teammate Brown (21) for the team lead. 

Marshalltown finished in fourth and the last team to receive multiple First Team selections. Gustavo Leal, the 2019 Region XI Tournament MVP, and Matheus Pereira, the 2019 Region XI Tournament Offensive MVP, were recognized for the Tigers. The two helped Marshalltown to a 6-3 conference record and led them through three games in the Region XI Tournament to win the 2019 crown. 

Leal finished with three goals and Pereira had two goals and five assists in 2019. 

Other notables on First Team included Christian Koffi of Iowa Central and Soane Deminguet of Southeastern. Koffi and Demingeut tied for most goals scored in the conference with 10.

The rest of the All-Region teams are listed below.


2019 First Team All-Region 

Name School Position Year
Robert Lodge Hawkeye F Fr.
David Medeiros Indian Hills M So.
Adam Dahou Indian Hills D Fr.
Joao Vitor Indian Hills D So.
Christian Koffi Iowa Central ST Fr.
Jovonay Brown Iowa Lakes F So.
Cameron Weston Iowa Lakes D So.
Nicolas Torres Iowa Western M So.
Damia Viader Iowa Western D So.
Fitzroy Cummings Iowa Western D So.
Eduardo Barros Iowa Western F Fr.
Gustavo Leal Marshalltown M So.
Matheus Pereira Marshalltown M So.
Alex Scarano NIACC ST So.
Federico Anzoletti Northeast D So.
Arafath Ouro Gnao Scott ST Fr.
Soane Deminguet Southeastern M So.


2019 Second Team All-Region  

Name School Position Year
Sam White Hawkeye M Fr.
Sacha Vandersteene Indian Hills D So.
Damien Baltide Indian Hills F Fr.
Vinicius Cadengue Indian Hills GK Fr.
Mauro Garretano Iowa Central CB So.
Luto Tom Iowa Lakes M So.
Nathan Ndomba Iowa Lakes D So.
Mario Magana Iowa Western F So.
Jacob Lonne Iowa Western D Fr.
Jassem Koleilat Iowa Western GK Fr.
Samuel Villalta Iowa Western M Fr.
Jiroh Hatano Marshalltown M So.
Aleix Viladot Marshalltown D So.
Aleksander Trujic NIACC ST So.
Breno Neves Northeast D So.
Noah Secor Scott D So.
Matthew James Southeastern D So.

2019 Honorable Mention All-Region 

Name School Position Year
Brendan Dally Hawkeye GK So.
Kai Smalley Hawkeye M Fr.
Gabriel Sodre Indian Hills M Fr.
Diogo Adade Indian Hills D Fr.
Jose Dos Reis Pereira Neto Iowa Central RB So.
Leonardo Reis Cavalcante Iowa Central GK Fr.
Connor Goldsworthy Iowa Lakes D So.
Luan Cesar Iowa Lakes M So.
Joel Quashie Iowa Western M Fr.
Fernando Zaragoza Iowa Western F So.
Cesar Mont  Marshalltown D So.
Yushi Nagao Marshalltown M Fr.
Layton Wheeler NIACC D So.
Hayden Bunch NIACC M So.
Andrei Soares Northeast M Fr.
Ivan Castillo Northeast GK Fr.
Emanuel Raya Scott F Fr.
Carson Cocquit Scott M Fr.
Mario Ivanov Southeastern D So.
Jeremy Guimbretiere Southeastern D Fr.

2019 Player of the Year

Jovoney Brown, Iowa Lakes


2019 Coach of the Year

Mike Brown, Iowa Western