Region's Best Recognized for 2019 Season

Region's Best Recognized for 2019 Season

The ICCAC announced the 2019 Women's Soccer All-Regions selections on Tuesday. Selections were made based on each team's finish in the conference standings. 

(All statistics noted below were from conference games only.)

Iowa Western won its fourth straight Region XI Championship after winning another regular-season title in 2019. After going 8-0, the Reivers earned four selections to First Team All-Region in 2019.

Not known for their scoring, the Reivers did not post a top-five goal scorer in the conference. In 2019, they were led by their defense. Iowa Western allowed just two goals in eight conference games. Defensively they were led by Estefania Cardona, a First Team selection. Cardona had one goal and three assists this season. 

Offensively, the Reivers were led by Moriah Lucas. A Second Team selection in 2018, Lucas scored big goals for her team all year. She led the team with six goals in conference play, adding two assists.

Rounding out the Reivers selections were Lina Jaime and Maria Gabriela Garcia. Garcia was another staple to the defensive-minded Reivers and Jaime helped out in the midfield creating three goals and two assists.

Right behind Iowa Western was Indian Hills. The Warriors only two losses in 2019 came to the Reivers as they finished 6-1-1, second in the conference and 15-2-1 overall. With that, they received three First Team selections. Most notably was sophomore forward Emily Murphy. Murphy, one of the nation's best goal scorers over the past two seasons, earned 2019 ICCAC Women's Soccer Player of the Year. She scored 14 goals and added six assists in her 2019 ICCAC campaign. 

Teammates Juile Gouilliart and Kiri Chiba were also chosen as First Team honorees. Gouillart complimented Murphy by tallying three goals and assisting on 10 others. Chiba did much of the same, adding one goal and aiding seven more. 

Iowa Central finished in third place to garner two First Team selections. The Tritons had the premiere offensive force in 2019 in freshman forward Julia Herbst. Herbst led all scorers with 17 goals. Four times she recorded a hat trick in conference play, including a five-goal and four-goal performance.

Triton's Bruna Bielski accompanied Herbst on First Team. She finished the year with two goals and nine assists.

Northeast finished in fourth place to garner two First Team selections. The Hawks' success was in large part from the offensive production of Naomi Pedroza and Kahrena Thompson. The two combined for 16 goals and 12 assists. They finished second as a team in goals scored with 32 behind Indian Hills (36). 

Chloe Allan from Hawkeye also received a First Team selection. She was the last ICCAC player in 2019 to have double-digit goals during conference play, 11. Allan was twice named ICCAC Women's Soccer Player of the Week after scoring five goals in two games and then scoring the game-winner in overtime of the Region XI quarterfinal against Northeast. 

The rest of the All-Region teams are listed below. 

2019 First Team All-Region 

Name School Position Year
Chole Allan Hawkeye M/F So.
Emily Murphy Indian Hills ST So.
Kiri Chiba Indian Hills ST So.
Julie Gouilliart Indian Hills M So.
Julia Herbst Iowa Central F Fr.
Bruna Bielski Iowa Central M So.
Crystal Molineaux Iowa Lakes CB So.
Moriah Lucas Iowa Western M So.
Lina Jaime Iowa Western M Fr.
Estefania Cardona Iowa Western D So.
Maria Gabriela Garcia Iowa Western M So.
Zjhayda Heath NIACC ST Fr.
Naomi Pedroza Northeast F Fr.
Kahrena Thompson Northeast F So.
Dora Cacari Scott CM So.
Maria Victoria Serrano Pobo Southeastern D So.


2019 Second Team All-Region  

Name School Position Year
Faith Cullen-Cooper Hawkeye M/D Fr.
Miranda Kurtt Indian Hills ST So.
Madison L Meyer Indian Hills GK Fr.
Yui Okamoto Indian Hills D Fr.
Anna Pons Iowa Central M Fr.
Meike Klever Iowa Central GK Fr.
Ciara Joyce Iowa Lakes CM So.
McKenna Banks Iowa Western D So.
Judit Gonzalez Iowa Western GK Fr.
Sophie Hoban Iowa Western D Fr.
Poala Ochoa Iowa Western F So.
Sophia Gebl NIACC ST Fr.
Kyla Ryan Northeast F So.
Amanda Stricker Northeast M So.
Abigail Ohland Scott CB So.
Erii Yamashita Southeastern M Fr.

2019 Honorable Mention All-Region   

Name School Position Year
Lauren Phillips Hawkeye D Fr.
Charlotte Chalder Hawkeye M Fr.
Elani Mears Indian Hills GK Fr.
Sierra Dimmel Indian Hills D Fr.
Dara Pontes Iowa Central CB So.
Mara Crimmins Iowa Central M So.
Danielle Grimmer Iowa Lakes LB Fr.
Ashley Commens Iowa Lakes CB So.
Laura Linares Iowa Western M Fr.
Yzamara Alves Iowa Western D Fr.
Tarran Williams NIACC ST So.
Merle Flasskamp NIACC M Fr.
Lorall Romain Northeast M So.
Brooke Klemann Scott RW/CM So.
Kristine Thompson Scott CM So.
Delfina Rossi Southeastern M Fr.
Sarah Morris Southeastern D Fr.

2019 Player of the Year

Emily Murphy, Indian Hills


2019 Coach of the Year

Anthony Longo, Indian Hills